return to news >

Dianne Miller receives BCMA Terry Fox Medal

December 3, 2012 - Dianne Miller, an Associate Professor in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, received the Terry Fox Medal from the BC Medical Association (BCMA) in recognition of her outstanding leadership in the ovarian cancer field.

A renowned surgeon, educator, clinician, and researcher, Dr. Miller was instrumental in co-founding the Ovarian Cancer Research Program (OVCARE) at the BC Cancer Agency and VGH, which has successfully brought together her vision of a dynamic team of specialists spanning multiple specialties — all working towards improving outcomes for women with ovarian cancer. Their initiatives include spearheading a major practice change involving fallopian tube removal, which will reduce deaths by ovarian cancer by up to 50 percent over the next 20 years in BC.

Dr. Miller, Head of the Division of Gynaecologic Oncology at VGH and UBC, is actively involved in both clinical trials and in collaborations with translational and basic scientists.  She is particularly interested in looking at potential screens for early diagnosis and in targeted therapies for ovarian cancer.  Dr. Miller is the Provincial Gynaecologic Tumour Group Chair for the Province of British Columbia and a member of Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute.

The Terry Fox Medal is presented by the BCMA to encourage and support the extraordinary commitment, diligence and perseverance of outstanding individuals in their contribution to cancer care, research, or prevention in British Columbia.

Click here to find out more.

2012 was an exceptional year for Dr. Miller as her work and devotiion to the specialty and patients were recognized by several organizations.  Contratulations Dr. Miller for receiving:

  • The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada's (SOGC) most prestigious and highest honour, the President's Award, for her tremendous lifetime contributions to women's health.
  • The Women of Distinction Award from the YWCA of Metro Vancouver for Science, Research and Innovation for her work in battling ovarian cancer and creating the BC Ovarian Cancer Research Program (OVCARE).
  • The College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC 2012 Award of Excellence in Medical Practice.

return to news >